Fear of the Lord

I’ve mentioned elsewhere that I used to study philosophy. Philosophy is kind of like the intellectual sister to religion in some ways – although it has more of a “we’ll withhold judgment” approach to all the big questions on God, truth, and everything else. Anyway, my official study of religion was limited to high school religion class at a Catholic High School. So, that’s what, four consecutive years of a single class. Worthwhile, but not appreciated much at the time.

Anyway, I remember once in one of my college philosophy classes, the professor was talking about religion and mentioned the concept of “fear of the lord.” That is a phrase that appears frequently in the Bible. I think the context of his discussion was that the Bible claimed something along the lines of that “Wisdom begins with Fear of the Lord” – or something like that. In contrast, the philosopher’s approach – hailing back to Socrates and perhaps even further – “Philosophy (which means “love of wisdom” if I recall correctly) begins with wonder.” And in true philosophical fashion, the professor spent pretty much a whole class delineating that kind of distinction.

Anyway, I don’t want to touch too much on the philosophy side of the dispute, but I do want to point out some reflections I’ve had on the religious side. Basically, I have been wondering what the term “Fear of the Lord” actually means. In that vein, I have come up with four different meanings. Sometimes they seem like progressions of the one before, sometimes not. Anyway, here we go:

Meaning 1:

Fear of the Lord is analogous to fear of a King. In ancient times, Kings usually had the power of tyrants. Whether or not they acted like tyrants depended upon the King in question. Regardless, the King could throw you into prison and sentence you to merciless torture. It’s all too easy to imagine early man looking at God in an analogous manner.

Meaning 2:

This comes from my philosophy professor. He argued that “fear” in the expression “Fear of the Lord” didn’t mean fear as we understand it, but rather something closer to “awe.” Basically, a kind of recognition of the sublime and majestic wonder around us. In that light, it is very similar in meaning to what the philosopher’s approach to wisdom is. “Wisdom begins in wonder” is very close to a kind of “awe.”

Meaning 3:

I guess this comes from interpreting some of the things Jesus said. He described God as a Father. In this light, “Fear of the Lord” may mean kind of a respectful fear or recognition of subordinance to a (divine) father figure. Whereas you probably would not expect to be mercilessly tortured by your “Father” if you did something wrong, you most likely could expect some kind of punishment in accord with the depth of your wrongdoing.

Meaning 4:

This is the last one. I kind of came up with it on my own. They say, God is love. Could not “Fear of the Lord” mean just that? “Fear of Love.” It is difficult (particularly for the young) to approach someone you are romantically inclined toward. You love them, but you also fear them. You wish they knew, but you fear they wouldn’t return the sentiment.

One of the problems with this interpretation, though, is that usually the lover and the loved one are meant to be equals. No one in their right mind seriously thinks they are the equal of God. Yet, having experienced what other people have called “The Being of Light” (which is a whole other discussion involving my antichrist issues and Satan, among other things), the only thing I have ever encountered that matches the Being of Light was an unrestrained romantic high that peaked out for several minutes. It was like the perfection of love itself – for a moment, anyway.

The other problem is that romantic love usually has a sexual connotation to it. Although in the aforementioned experience I had. it was more like beyond sexual love. It was a feeling of completion that simply filled up my heart with a kind of (bluish tinted) light (I don’t know why bluish, but that was the feeling/sense/whatever). Anyway, I don’t associate God with sexual love.

Also, the Platonist in me wants to associate the ultimate nature of love to be beyond sexual. Of course, these days, I don’t know if that is even attainable by human beings or not. Or is it just some bizarre fantasy I’ve constructed in my head. What is beyond sexual? Just pure emotion? Maybe. Of course, as I probably have less dating experience than 99% of the rest of the planet, taking relationship advice from me is probably a really bad idea.

Anyway, back to God and sexuality.

I think Hinduism says something like Shiva and Shakti create the universe by making love. I just think that if God is omnipotent, He doesn’t need anything or anyone else in order to create something – be it the universe or not. Of course, Christianity has the trinity – which I don’t think is meant to be a sexual union either. Anyway, I think I’m getting a little out of my depth here, so I will leave it there.

Just take it for what it is.

Conclusion

Well, those are my four different interpretations for the phrase “Fear of the Lord.” Do you have any additional ones? Feel free to add them in the comments.

Leave a comment